Is Toronto the world’s best city?

van

Not quite, a recent list places it as 4th most livable city in the world. The top 5 are:

1. Vienna

2. Melbourne

3. Vancouver

4. Toronto

5. Calgary

I have been lucky enough in the last 4 years to have lived in Vancouver, Toronto and Calgary so I thought I’d talk about what is great about living in each of these cities.

Calgary – the Stampede was great every year, we lived about a block from the grounds and were able to watch the fireworks every night and hear the music at Nashville North from our balcony. Secondly I have never lived in a city with so many great authentic pizza places – the 4 best; Una on 17th, Pulcinella in Kensington, Without Papers in Inglewood and Double Zero in Downtown. Also they have a great mayor, in the recent flooding the rest of Canada got to see how much Nenshi really cares about Calgary.

Vancouver – lots of people will tell you Granville Island (but its full of tourists) and Kitsilano (too far from downtown) but I lived in downtown and rarely felt the need to leave. One reason I occasionally left downtown for was for fish and chips at Steveston – it’s a small fishing town on the far side of Richmond, it has many great seafood restaurants but my favourite is Pajo’s on a barge in the river.

Toronto – really this is my favourite place, so many individual neighbourhoods, so much great food, my only worry is that I will never get to try them all. This week is going to be my first experience of TIFF which I’m really looking forward to. The other thing I love is that we are close to so many other places too, since I’ve been here we’ve been to New York, Detroit, Washington, Chicago, Montreal, all by car.

Really I think we are very lucky to live in Canada – 3 of the world best cities are here!

Leave a comment