Toronto Internation Film Festival – starts tomorrow

??????????

This year will be my first time attending the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) and I’m actually going to be lucky enough to have a bit of an insider’s look – I’m going to be a volunteer. Unfortunately I won’t be able to tell you about what happens behind the scenes which is why I’m writing about TIFF now before the festival starts on Thursday.

A couple of months ago when tickets went on sale I decided to go for a Premium Sampler ticket package, which basically means I get to go to a few red carpets, randomly chosen by TIFF.

We just got our film allocations last week and it’s quite an unusual mix;

Philomena, starring Judi Dench and Steve Coogan, this looks like a really interesting story about an Irish-Catholic woman who is forced to give up her newborn son and years later embarks on a search to find him.

Joe, starring Nicholas Cage, described as a contemporary Southern gothic tale, about an ex-con who becomes a friend and protector to a hard-luck kid.

A Random Desi Romance, all in Hindi, hopefully with subtitles, this is a love-story based in India.

The one other movie that I am hoping to see is Beyond the Edge, a 3D documentary about Sir Edmund Hillary and Tensing Norgay’s conquest of Mt. Everest in 1953.

I’m really looking forward to seeing these films and of course the opportunity to spot a star around town!

Leave a comment